Too tired to fight (with a couple of exceptions…)

RW4463_web

When I was seventeen, I was passionate about…well…EVERYTHING.

If I didn’t like it, you were going to hear about it. I was the guy in the front line with the biggest sign (and the biggest mouth.) There were no small issues, EVERYTHING mattered, EVERYTHING needed to be fixed, and if you weren’t part of the solution, then by golly I was going to let you know you were part of the problem!

Now, almost 30 years later…I find that there are so many things that, well…I just don’t CARE that much about anymore.

It’s not that I don’t think they’re important issues. It’s not that my beliefs or opinions have changed (well, a few shifted towards the middle a bit), it’s just the exorbitant amount of ENERGY is takes to be on fire for something…24/7/365…man!

That righteous indignation (or arrogant “religiousness”, take your pick) seems to require a lot more kindling to get burning nowadays.

Abortion, homosexuality, sin in the church, Church Rights, politics…on and on…

It’s not that I don’t have a opinion on these (I ALWAYS have an opinion, lol)…I just don’t have the time or energy to get so fired up about them anymore. And if I do get on the subject, I’m much more likely to be sitting somewhere quite and comfy, with a cup of coffee in my had…and maybe a campfire at my feet…and not marching down main street carrying a sign.

Did I sell out? Give up? Throw in the towel?

I don’t think so. At least I hope not.

Because, don’t get me wrong, I still have a couple of things that I’ll spend all day on up the soapbox (or, more likely, in the kitchen) for…and most revolve around feeding people and teaching and helping kids.

Being passionate about just those few things is often exhausting, lol.

Frankly, all those other issues? Well, they’re someone else’s fight now…and whoever you are, please know that you have my respect, support and prayers.

If you want to talk…let’s go get a cup of coffee.

-Just Perry

Categories: Rants | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Too tired to fight (with a couple of exceptions…)

  1. Well, you’re not alone in what you are experiencing, I can tell you that From what I know of living life, it’s not so much about losing one’s fire, but about gaining perspective, rock solid “Oh this is what I’m supposed to be doing!” kind of focus and you have that by the bushel! We let go of all the noise in our lives as we learn to discern what for us, is the “best thing” to be spending our energy on. What God’s will is for our lives here on earth. By then we usually have recognized and refined (hopefully) those talents and gifts God has given us and are finally not just stop our passion into the air at the slightest breeze and barely touch a life in the process. It’s what usually happens, that is unless we are unusually gifted with the ability to focus at a young age. For me it took the lessons learned from my mistakes along with the earth shaking realization that I really can’t do it all after all and God didn’t want me to have to be super woman in the first place.

    So I don’t think it’s about not caring but about caring more for the particular thing God wants us to focus on so I say you are doing fine there my friend. God is faithful and I for one am thankful you have the talents and gifts you do! Just keep loving.

Thoughts?

Blog at WordPress.com.